Play Pickleball. Connecting Players, Instructors, Courts, and Communities.

What is a pickleball let serve? What happens when the ball hits the net

Is the pickleball ball allowed to hit the net, either during a serve or during regular play? When is it allowed, when is it a replay, and when is it a fault?

Default blog Author image at PlayPickleball.com.

Jaclyn Brandt

04/11/2024

Hero image

A pickleball "let" is one of the most questioned rules in the sport. But what is a let in pickleball, and what is a let serve? Can the pickleball ball hit the net, during a serve or during regular play?

What is a let?

A serve let in tennis is when a service ball hits the net before bouncing into the other side of the net.

In tennis:

In pickleball, the let rules are slightly different, and exist both during the serve and regular play. But the pickleball let rule again has to do with the ball hitting the net.

USA Pickleball let rules:

USA Pickleball’s official rules never mention the word “let.” Their official rule for whether the ball can hit the net says:

4.A.2. Placement. The server must serve to the correct service court (the court diagonally opposite the server). The serve may clear or touch the net and must clear the NVZ and the NVZ lines. The serve may land on any other service court line. 

Pickleball let serve rules

But what does that mean? A pickleball let serve is: when the ball is served and hits the net. Contrary to tennis, a let serve in pickleball will never cause a replay, and is allowed (in some cases).

In pickleball, during the serve:

Pickleball let rules

A pickleball let during regular play is when the ball hits the net and then lands on your opponent's side of the net.

In pickleball, during regular play (any time except during the serve):

Latest Articles

No articles found for your search on this category. Please try a different term.